A view behind the Abathsahayeswarar Temple
A view behind the Abathsahayeswarar Temple

Abathsahayeswarar Temple is located at Alangudi Valangaiman taluk of Tiruvarur district, Tamil Nadu, represents the Navagraha Guru (Jupiter). This temple is considered as one of the Navagraha temples dedicated to the planet Jupiter (Guru). Abathsahayeswarar Temple is also called by the names Guru Sthalam or Tiru Irum Poolai. Navagraha temples are the nine temples dedicated to Navagrahas (nine planets or nine celestial bodies). The Navagrahas are believed to be the transmitters of Universal, quintessential energy or power.

The Navagrahas are closely associated with the fixed stars in the Zodiac. Each Navagraha temples are located at different places in and around Kumbakonam sector. The Navagraha temples are considered to be the best destination to get rid of from the influence of planets. And most of these Navagraha temples are dedicated to Lord Shiva and Lord Shiva is worshipped as the main deity. The only Navagraha temple dedicated to one of the nine Grahas (celestial bodies) is Suryanar temple. Abathsahayeswarar Temple is built in a Dravidian style of architecture and has a five-tiered Rajagopuram with two precincts.

The Navagraha Temples are:

  1. Suryanar Kovil (or) Sun Temple – Surya (Sun)
  2. Agneeswarar Temple, Kanjanur – Shukra (Venus)
  3. Kailasanathar Temple, Thingalur – Chandra (Moon)
  4. Vaitheeswaran Temple – Mangala (Mars)
  5. Thirunageswaram Naganatha Swamy Temple – Rahu
  6. Sri Dharbaranyeswara Swamy Temple,Thirunallar – Sani (Saturn)
  7. Naganathaswamy Temple, Keezhaperumpallam – Kethu
  8. Abathsahayeswarar Temple, Alangudi – Guru (Jupiter)
  9. Sri Swetharanyeswara Swamy Temple, Thiruvengadu Budhan Sthalam – Budha (Mercury)


The presiding deity of Abathsahayeswarar Temple is Lord Shiva in the form of Lord Abathsahayeswarar, the Savior, along with Goddess Ezhavarkuzhali or Umai Ammai. And the Navagraha Jupiter is worshiped in the form of Lord Dakshinamurthy, the Guru. Abathsahayeswarar Temple is revered as one of the 275 Paadal Petra Sthalam and Sambandar, the Tamil Saiva bhakti saint who lived between the sixth and the tenth centuries CE, have sung hymns to Lord Shiva. Lord Brihaspati (Lord Guru) is found not as an idol, instead the image of Lord Guru is carved on the wall. The legend says that Lord Shiva consumed fatal poison, and hence the place was came to be named as Alangudi.

Pooja Timings

  • Kaala Santhi Pooja – 08.00 AM to 08.30 AM
  • Uchikala Pooja – 12.30 PM to 01.00 PM
  • Saayaratchi Pooja – 05.00 PM to 06.00 PM
  • Arthajama – Pooja – 08.30 PM to 09.00 PM


  • Poornima (Full moon day) festival – April or May
  • Thai poosam festival- January or February
  • Panguni Uthiram festival – March or April
  • Navaratri festival – September or October
  • Kartikai festival – November
  • Guru Peyarchi, the transit of Guru (Planet Jupiter) from one zodiac sign to another, is an important festival celebrated in this temple.
By Road

Alangudi is well connected with road networks. Alangudi is 40 km from Tiruvarur on the Mannarkudi route and it can be reached from Kumbakonam.

By Train

The nearest railway station to Alangudi Abathsahayeswarar Temple is Kumbakonam railway station which is 14 Km from the temple.

By Air

The nearest airport to Alangudi Abathsahayeswarar Temple is Thanjavur airport, which is 28 Km from the temple.

  • Thiyagaraja Swamy Temple
  • Saraswathi Temple
  • Rajagopalaswamy Temple
  • Pongusaneeswarar Temple
  • Seshapureeswarar Kedhu Temple
  • Periyanayaki Temple
  • Vellimalainaathar Temple
  • Srinivasa Perumal Temple