A distant view of Kanjanur Shukran Sthalam, also known as Agneeswarar Temple, Thirukanjanur
A distant view of Kanjanur Shukran Sthalam, also known as Agneeswarar Temple, Thirukanjanur

Agneeswarar Temple is located at Kanjanur, Thanjavur district of Tamilnadu, which represents the Navagraha Shukra (Venus), hence named as ‘Kanjanur Sukran Sthalam’. Agneeswarar Temple is considered as one of the Navagraha temples dedicated to Shukra (Venus). Navagraha temples are the nine temples dedicated to Navagrahas (nine planets or nine celestial bodies). The Navagrahas are believed to be the transmitters of Universal, quintessential energy or power. The Navagrahas are closely associated with the fixed stars in the Zodiac. Each Navagraha temples are located at different places in and around Kumbakonam sector.

The Navagraha temples are considered to be the best destination to get rid of from the influence of planets. And most of these Navagraha temples are dedicated to Lord Shiva and Lord Shiva is worshipped as the main deity. The only Navagraha temple dedicated to one of the nine Grahas (celestial bodies) is Suryanaar temple. Agneeswarar Temple was believed to be built by the Chola dynasties and was later contributed mostly by the Vijayanagar Kings. Agneeswarar Temple is built in a Dravidian style of architecture and has a five-tiered Rajagopuram (temple tower) with two precincts.

The Navagraha Temples are:

  1. Suryanar Kovil (or) Sun Temple – Surya (Sun)
  2. Agneeswarar Temple, Kanjanur – Shukra (Venus)
  3. Kailasanathar Temple, Thingalur – Chandra (Moon)
  4. Vaitheeswaran Temple – Mangala (Mars)
  5. Thirunageswaram Naganatha Swamy Temple – Rahu
  6. Sri Dharbaranyeswara Swamy Temple,Thirunallar – Sani (Saturn)
  7. Naganathaswamy Temple, Keezhaperumpallam – Kethu
  8. Abathsahayeswarar Temple, Alangudi – Guru (Jupiter)
  9. Sri Swetharanyeswara Swamy Temple, Thiruvengadu Budhan Sthalam – Budha (Mercury)


The presiding deity of Agneeswarar Temple is Lord Shiva worshiped by the name Lord Agneeswarar. Lord Agneeswarar in this temple is found in the form of a Lingam, an infinite nature of Lord Shiva, which depicts Shukra. And the Thayaar of Agneeswarar Temple is Goddess Karpagambigai (Parvati). The other deities of the temple are Lord Karpaga Vinayagar, Lord Dhakshinamoorthy, Lord Natarajar, and Pullunda Nandhi. The special feature of this temple is that the sage Parasara Muni was believed to be blessed by Lord Shiva with His divine cosmic dance.

According to the belief of Saivite, followers of Lord Shiva, Shukra is found within the stomach of Lord Shiva. Agneeswarar Temple is revered as Paadal Petra Sthalam, a Hindu canon, and hymns were sung by Appar, the Saiva Tamil poet-saint. Agni, the fire god, was believed to have worshiped Lord Shiva at this place. Hence Lord Shiva is called by the name Agneeswarar. Beautiful stone images of Lord Natarajar along with Goddess Sivakami are found in this temple in Mukti mandapam. The temple also houses the deities of Maanakkanjaarar Nayanmaar and Kalikkaamar, in separate shrines.

Pooja Timings

  • Kaalasanthi Pooja – 08.00 AM
  • Uchikaala Pooja – 12.30 PM
  • Saayarakshai Pooja – 05.30 PM
  • IrandamKaala Pooja – 07.30 PM
  • Arthajama Pooja – 09.00 PM


  • Haradatta Sivacharyar Festival – January or February
  • Mahasivaratri – February or March
  • Navaratri – September or October
  • Aadi Pooram July or August
  • Arudra Darisanam – December or January
By Road

There are direct local bus services to Agneeswarar Temple from Mayavaram, Aduthurai, Thiruvidaimarudhur and Kumbakonam.

By Train

The nearest railway station to Agneeswarar Temple is Mayiladuthurai railway station which is 18 Km away from the temple.

By Air

The nearest airport to Agneeswarar Temple is Thanjavur airport, which is 46 Km away from the temple.

  • Suryanar Temple
  • Sri Purushotma Temple
  • Thirumananjeri Temple
  • Kailasanathar Temple
  • Uppiliappan Temple
  • Sri Sunderaswarar Temple
  • Nageswarar Temple
  • Sri Kalahastheeswar Temple