A view inside the Aundha Nagnath Jyotirlinga Temple or Nageshwar Temple complex
A view inside the Aundha Nagnath Jyotirlinga Temple or Nageshwar Temple complex

Aundha Nagnath Temple also called as Nageshwar Temple is situated in Aundha Nagnath, district of Hingoli, Maharashtra, dedicated to Lord Shiva. This temple is one of the twelve Jyotirlinga Temples, the sacred abodes of Lord Shiva. Aundha Nagnath Temple occupies an area about 60000 square feet and the current temple is built in the style of Hemadpanthi architecture by Yadavas of devagiri. This temple is said to be in existence from the early 13th century with seven storied building, built out of stones. Aundha Nagnath Temple is the 8th temple among the 12 Jyotrilinga temples dedicated to Lord Shiva. The 12 Jyotrilinga Temples are:

  1. Somnath Temple
  2. Mallikarjun Temple
  3. Mahakaleshwara Temple
  4. Omkareshwar Temple
  5. Kedarnath Temple
  6. Vaidyanath Temple
  7. Bhimashankar Temple
  8. Kashi Vishwanath Temple
  9. Trimbakeshwar Shiva Temple
  10. Rameshwaram Temple
  11. Nageshwar Temple
  12. Grishneshwar Temple

The mythology says that Lord Brahma (the god of creation) and Lord Vishnu (the god of Harmony) had a tough argument on who holds the superiority in creation. To test Lord Brahma and Lord Vishnu, Lord Shiva penetrated the three worlds as an endless pillars of light, called Jyotrilinga. Lord Brahma and Lord Vishnu was assigned separate directions, one to the upward direction and the other towards the downward direction to find the end of the light in either directions.

Lord Vishnu admitted His Vanquishment whereas Lord Brahma lied that he found the end of the light. Hence, Lord Shiva appeared to be the second pillar of light and proclaimed that Lord Vishnu would be worshipped by all till the end of the eternity and cursed Lord Brahma that He will not be worshipped in any etiquette.


The presiding deity of this temple is Lord Shiva in the form of Lingam. Each Jyotrilinga temples takes different manifestation of Lord Shiva and the idol of Lingam is considered as a presiding deity in every Jyotrilinga temples. Lingam represents the beginning less and endless, which symbolizes the infinite nature of Lord Shiva. It is one of the important pilgrimage in Maharashtra, where the architectural excellence and the sculptural beauty of this temple sweeps away the heart of the pilgrims.

Aundha Nagnath temple is adorned with incredibly wonderful carvings which adds even more beauty to the temple. The temple is closely associated with three great saints named Namdev, Visoba and Dnyaneshwar, who were belongs to the Varkari sect of Hinduism.

Pooja Timings

  • Temple opening – 04.00 am
  • Rudrabhishek Pooja – 04.05 am
  • Aarti Pooja – 12.00 pm
  • Shrisnan Pooja – 04.00 pm
  • Shejaarti Pooja – 08.30 pm
  • Temple closing – 09.00 pm


  • Mahashivaratri – February or March
  • Vijayadashami – September or October
By Road

MSRTC has regular bus services to Aundha Nagnath from both, Nanded as well as Parbhani and to other major cities.

By Train

The nearest railway station is Chondi, but a better choice is Parbhani or Nanded, which are well connected to all parts of India.

By Air

The nearest airport is at Aurangabad (around 200 Km).

  • Tulja Devi Sansthan Temple
  • Sant Namdev Sansthan Temple
  • Mallinath Digambar Jain Temple
  • Shri Datta Mandir