An aerial view of the Pashupatinath Temple complex
An aerial view of the Pashupatinath Temple complex

The famous Pasupathi Linga is located in Kathmandu, Nepal, which is also called as Pashupatinath Temple, which represents Yajamana (sacrifice). This temple is said to be built by the king Bhupatindra Malla in the 17th century. The rites and rituals of Pashupatinath Temple is done only by the Namboothiri Brahmins (Hindu Brahmins from the state of Kerala. And there is unique attribute followed in this temple which is started by the saint Adi Shankaracharya, is that only four priests can touch the idols of god.

Pashupatinath Temple contains of about 235 shrines of both Vaishnava and Saiva traditions inside its temple complex. The main Pashupatinath Temple is built in the Nepalese Pagoda style (tiered tower with multiple eaves) of architecture which is cubic in structure and is carved with wooden rafters.


The main deity of this Pashupatinath Temple is an idol of Mukhalinga (linga with a face), which of one meter height with faces carved in four directions, with a yoni base bounded with serpent made of silver. The Lord in this Kshetra is in human form, who is visible up to His waist. The Lord is completely decorated with Gold Kavacha. Except the Archakar, nobody can enter into the Garbha Graha. The temple has entrances in all the four directions. The western entrance is the main entrance to the temple and the rest are open only during the festivals.

The important shrines in the inner sanctum of the main temple are:

  • Vasukinath temple
  • Unmatta Bhairav temple
  • Surya narayan temple
  • Kirti mukh bhairav shrine
  • Budanil kantha shrine
  • Hanuman shrine
  • 184 shivaling shrine

Shrines in the outer sanctum of the main temple are:

  • Ram mandir
  • Virat swaroop temple
  • 12 jyotirlingha
  • Guhyeshwari Temple

They face towards the West, North, East, South and Zenith respectively. These faces represents the different incarnation of Lord Shiva. And it also believed that it signifies the five primary elements earth, water, air, light and ether. The different faces are:

  1. Sadyojata (also known as Barun)
  2. Vamdeva (also known as Uma Maheswara)
  3. Tatpurusha
  4. Aghor
  5. Ishana (imaginative)

Pooja Timings

  • The temple remains open from 4.00 am to 7 pm
  • Morning rituals
  • The main Garbhagriha remains open for the rituals from 5.00 am to 12.00 pm

Evening rituals

  • The main Garbhagriha remains open for the rituals from 5.00 pm to 7.00 pm


  • Ekadasi – December or January
  • Sankranti – January
  • Mahashivratri – February
  • Akshaya Tritiya – April or May
  • Rakshabandhan – August
  • Poornima (Full moon day) – June or July
By Road

There are regular bus services from Kathmandu (from Ratna Park or City Bus Station) to Patan. It takes approximately 45 minutes to reach Goshala, the stop for Pashupatinath.

By Train

There are no trains available in Kathmandu.

By Air

Kathmandu airport is located around 6 kilometers from the center of Kathmandu.

  • Swayambhunath Temple
  • Changu Narayan Temple
  • Dakshinkali Temple
  • Manakamana Temple
  • Budhanilkantha Temple
  • Bajrayogini Temple