A view infront of the entrance at Dwarkadhish Temple
A view infront of the entrance at Dwarkadhish Temple

Dwarkadhish Temple is situated in Jamnagar District of Gujarat, dedicated to Lord Krishna (an avatar of Lord Vishnu).And also one of the ‘108 Divyadesam Temples’ (a group of 108 temples dedicated to Lord Vishnu).This temple is also named as ‘Sri Kalyana Narayana Perumal Temple‘ and ‘Thiru Dwaraka‘. Dwarkadhish Temple is also known as Jagat Mandir (Universal shrine). The glory of this Dwarkadhish Temple is further enhanced by the flight 56 steps leading to the River Gomati. The spire of the Dwarkadhish Temple takes the height of 78.3 meter.

Dwarkadhish Temple is built of limestone with five- storey structure stands on 60 pillars. This Temple is said to be built by Vajranabh, the grandson of Lord Krishna, 2500 years ago. The current structure of the temple is said to be constructed in the 15th century in Chalukya style. The Dwarkadhish temple consists of Sanctum, Vestibule and a hall with porches on its three sides.

A remote view of Dwarkadhish Temple
A remote view of Dwarkadhish Temple


The main deity of this temple is Lord Krishna, worshipped by the name of Dwarkadhish. Dwarkadhish Temple is one of the 108 Divyadesams (a group of 108 temples dedicated to Lord Vishnu). The shrine of Lord Dwarkadhish is fully covered with elaborated ornaments. The two gateways of this temple are Swarga Dwar for the entry inside the temple and Moksha Dwar for the exit. The flag at the apex of the temple is changed five times for a day. The Dwarkadhish Temple displays wonderful sculptures representing the successions of dynasties who ruled this region.

Pooja Timings

  • Mangala Aarti – 07.00 am
  • Snan Curtain (Abhishek) – 08.00 am to 09.15 am
  • Snan Bhog – 09.45 am to 10.00 am
  • Shrinagar Darshan – 10.00 am to 10.30 am
  • Aarti Bhog – 10.30 am to 10.45 am
  • Aarti Darshan – 10.45 am
  • Gwala Darshan – 10.55 am
  • Madhyanh Bhog – 11.05 am to 11.25 am
  • Raj Bhog – 12.00 pm to 12.25 pm
  • Sukhala (Temple Closed) – 12.40 pm
  • Utthapan Bhog – 05.30 pm to 05.45 pm
  • Sandhya Bhog – 07.30 pm to 07.45 pm
  • Aarti Darshan – 07.45 pm
  • Shayan Bhog – 08.05 pm to 08.25 pm
  • Shayan Aarti – 08-30 pm
  • Darshan – 08-35 pm to 09-00 pm
  • Shringar Darshan (Large) – 09.00 pm to 09.20 pm
  • Stuti Darshan – 09.20 pm to 09.40 pm
  • Anosar (Temple Closed) – 09.40 pm


  • New year, Govardhan pooja, Annakoot darshan – November to December
  • Bhai-beej – November or December
  • Tulsi-vivah – November or December
  • Geeta Jayanti – December or January
  • Makar-Sankranti – January
  • Vasantotsav (Spring Festival), Saraswati Pooja – January
  • Ramnavami-birthday of the Lord Ram – March
  • Chandan Sewa – April
  • Jyeshthabhishekotsava – May
  • Pushpa-shringar – May
  • Rath Yatra – May
  • Guru-Purnima – May
  • Hindola-utsav – July
  • Jiladan Utsav – July
  • Raksha-bandhan and changing yajnopavit of the Lord – July
  • Janmashtami-birth day – July
  • Shardapeethadheeshwar Jagadguru Shankaracharya Swami Birthday – August
  • Vaaman dwadashi – August
  • Navratri and yajna-havan – October
  • Dashahara festival – October
  • Deepavali – October or November
By Road

Dwarka is on the state highway from Jamnagar to Dwarka. Direct buses available from Jamnagar and Ahmedabad.

By Train

Dwarka is a station on the Ahmedabad-Okha broad gauge railway line, with trains connecting it to Jamnagar (137 km), Rajkot (217 km) and Ahmedabad (471 km), and some trains that continue all the way down the coast through Vadodara, Surat, Mumbai, Goa, Karnataka, to the southern tip of India in Kerala.

By Air

Nearest airport is Jamnagar (137 km).

  • Moksha Dwar
  • Rukmani Temple
  • Lootfaat Temple
  • Sri Swami Narayan Mandir
  • Sai Baba Temple
  • Bhadrakali Mandir
  • Bal Mandir
  • Hanuman Mandir
  • Nageshwar Jyotirlinga Temple
  • Bhadkeshwar Mahadev Mandir