A closeup view of the entrance tower at Sri Aadhikesava Perumal Temple (Ashtabujakaram Temple)
A closeup view of the entrance tower at Sri Aadhikesava Perumal Temple (Ashtabujakaram Temple)

Sri Aadhikesava Perumal Temple, also known as ‘Sri Ashtabujakaram Temple’ is situated in Kanchipuram district of Tamilnadu. Sri Aadhikesava Perumal Temple is dedicated to Lord Vishnu, Who is worshipped as ‘Lord Ashta Bhuja Perumal’. Hence, this temple is named as ‘Ashtabujakaram’ and also one of the 108 Divya Desam Temples. Sri Aadhikesava Perumal Temple is believed to be built by Pallava Kings and later it was contributed by Chola dynasties and Vijayanagar Kings. This temple is built in a Dravidian style and the walls of the temple is surrounded by granite.

The mythology says that Goddess Lakshmi (the consort of Lord Vishnu) and Goddess Saraswati (the consort of Lord Brahma) had a tough argument on who is superior among them. They decided to make it clear by asking Lord Indira, the king of celestial deities. Lord Indira gave the judgment that Goddess Lakshmi is the superior Goddess. Goddess Saraswati was not satisfied with the decision and asked Lord Brahma about this, and Lord Brahma too chose Goddess Lakshmi to be the Superior Goddess.

Goddess Saraswati got disappointed and started avoiding Lord Brahma. During this crucial time, Lord Brahma did a severe penance towards Lord Vishnu and performed an Aswametha Yagna which is usually done long with His consort Goddess Saraswati. This bought the anger of Goddess Saraswati to the peak.Goddess Saraswati decided to disturb the yagna of Lord Brahma and interrupted it in various ways but Lord Vishnu prevented it every time. And finally Goddess Saraswati sent a curious Sarpam (snake) to disrupt the Yagna. Lord Vishnu took the form of Ashtabhuja (Lord with 8 hands holding 8 different weapons) to kill the snake.


The presiding deity of this Aadhikesava Perumal Temple is Lord Aadhi Kesava Perumal (Lord Vishnu), holding eight weapons in His eight hands. The other legend says that Lord Vishnu threw His discus on the crocodile, which grabbed the leg of the elephant when elephant came to drink water in the temple tank, to save the elephant named Gajendra, And Both the elephant and crocodile is said to be attained salvation and hence the Lord is also called as Lord Gajendra. The other deities of this temple are Goddess Alamelu Mangai (Goddess Lakshmi), Lord Hanuman, Goddess Andal.

The specialty of this temple is that the sun rays falls directly into the sanctum of Lord Adi Kesava Perumal for a whole week during the month of mid-September to mid-October and mid-March to mid-April. Sri Aadhikesava Perumal Temple is glorified in the early canon, the Nalayira Divya Prabandham and the hymns were sung by the Azhwars, the great saints. The Pushkarani (temple tank) of Sri Aadhikesava Perumal Temple is called as Gajendra Pushkarani. The Vimanam (the tower above the sanctum sanctorum) of Sri Aadhikesava Perumal Temple is called as Ganganakkruthi, Sanganakkruthi Vimanam.

Pooja Timings

  • Viswaroopa Pooja – 06. 30 AM
  • Kaala Shanthi Pooja – 07.00 AM
  • Uchi Kaala Pooja – 09.00 AM
  • Sayaratchi Pooja – 05.30 PM
  • Raakkaala Pooja – 07.00 PM
  • Aravanai Pooja – 08.30 PM


  • Masi Pooram – February or March
  • Panguni Uthiram – March or April
  • Bhramotsavam – April or May
  • Gajendramoksham – July or August
By Road

The city of Kanchipuram is well connected with the other part of the states and it is few kms from the Quadrilateral National Highway. There are frequent bus services from Chennai and it takes 2- 3 hours to reach. The Chennai Metropolitan and the state express transport operate the services.

By Train

Kanchipuram is connected with the southern part of the rail network and few trains are running through Kanchipuram. Suburban trains are running between Kanchipuram and Chennai beach on specified intervals.

By Air

Chennai, the nearest international airport, is situated around 75 km away from Kanchipuram. Both public and private transport facilities are available at the airport.

  • Kanchi Kamakshi Devi Temple
  • Kailasanadhar Temple
  • Sri Simha Dhakshinamoorthi Vyagrapuriswarar Temple
  • Madambakkam Sri Lakshmi Narayana Perumal Temple
  • Vaikunda Perumal Temple
  • Kachabeshwarar Temple
  • Kanchi Varadaraja Swami Temple