A closeup view of the tower at Thirukkannamangai Sri Bhaktavatsala Perumal Temple
A closeup view of the tower at Thirukkannamangai Sri Bhaktavatsala Perumal Temple

Sri Bhaktavatsala Perumal Temple is situated in Thirukkannamangai, Tiruvarur district of Tamilnadu and also revered as one of the 108 Divya Desam temples, dedicated to Lord Vishnu. Sri Bhaktavatsala Perumal temple is also called by the names Krishna Mangala Kshetram, Krishnaranya Kshrtram. This temple has a five tiered Rajagopuram (monumental tower), built in a Dravidian style of architecture. Sri Bhaktavatsala Perumal Temple is considered as one of the ‘Panchakannan Kshetrams’ (five Holy temples of Lord Vishnu), Lord Kannan (Lord Krishna), is the incarnation of Lord Vishnu. The Panchakannan Kshetrams are:

  • Sri Loganatha Perumal Temple, Thirukannangudi
  • Sri Gajendra Varadha Perumal Temple, Thirukavithalam
  • Sri Neelamega Perumal Temple, Thirukannapuram
  • Sri Bhaktavatsala Perumal Temple, Thirukkannamangai
  • Sri Ulagalantha Perumal Temple, Thirukovilur


The presiding deity of this temple is Lord Bhaktavatsala Perumal (Lord Vishnu) and the Goddesses of Bhaktavatsala Perumal Temple is Goddess Abhisehavalli, and Goddess Kannamangai. Bhaktavatsala Perumal Temple is respected in Nalayira Divya Prabandham, a Vaishnava canon, and the hymns were sang by Tirumazhisai Azhwar. And it was believed that Lord Varuna, the guardian deity, and sage Romasa are believed to have worshiped Lord Vishnu at Tirukannamangai. Bhaktavatsala Perumal Temple is also called as the Saptamrita Kshetram (seven elements of nature) Kshetram. The seven elements are Vimanam, Mandapam, Aaranyam, Theertham, Kshetram, River and Town

Thirukkanna Mangai Aandan, the devotee of saint Nadhamunigal, was said to be attained Moksham (liberation) at this temple. The other deities of this temple are Goddess Andal, saint Vedanta desikar, Lord Kodhanda Ramar, Lord Hayagreevar, Sanganidhi, Padmanidhi, and saint Manavala mamunigal, Thirukannamangai Aandan, Azhwars and Acharyas. The Vimanam (tower above the sanctum sanctorum) of Bhaktavatsala Perumal Temple is called Utpalavathga Vimanam. The Pushkarani (temple tank) of Bhaktavatsala Perumal Temple is called Dharshana Pushkarini and Vishnu Padha Ganga Pushkarani.

Pooja Timings

The temple remains open from morning 7.30 AM to 12.30 PM and in the evening from 5.00 PM to 8.30 PM.


  • Vaikunda Ekadesi – December to January
  • Chitra Poornima Festival – April to May
By Road

The Tamil Nadu State Transport Corporation operates close to 175 daily services connecting various cities to Thiruvarur. Most of the buses via Thiruvarur are operated by the corporation ply between Trichy and Velankanni.

By Train

Thiruvarur railway junction is a four way junction connecting Thanjavur in the west, Mayiladuthurai in the north, Nagapattinam in the east and Thiruthuraipoondi in the south. There is a daily express train to Chennai via Mayiladuthurai and Ernakulam and trains available from Mannargudi to Tirupathi and Velankanni to Goa, operated three times a week that pass through Thiruvarur.

By Air

The nearest airport to Thiruvarur is Tiruchirapalli Airport located about 110 km from the town.

  • Srinivasa Perumal Temple, Kudavasal
  • Sri Saranathan Perumal Temple
  • Thyagaraja Temple, Tiruvarur
  • Tirucherai Sivasthalam
  • Sarguna Nathar Temple
  • Ramanathaswami Temple, Tiruvarur
  • Koothanur Maha Saraswathi Temple
  • Kalyana Varadharaja Perumal Temple
  • Iravatheeswarar Temple, Thirukottaram
  • Agnipureeswarar Temple