A view infront of the 'Sri Deepa Prakasa Perumal Temple' (Vilakkoli Perumal Temple)
A view infront of the 'Sri Deepa Prakasa Perumal Temple' (Vilakkoli Perumal Temple)

Sri Deepa Prakasa Perumal Temple, also known as ‘Vilakkoli Perumal Temple’ is situated in Kanchipuram district of Tamilnadu. Sri Deepa Prakasa Perumal Temple is one of the 108 Divya Desam Temples, which are dedicated to Lord Vishnu, and also named as ‘Thiruthanka’. The mythology says that Goddess Lakshmi (the consort of Lord Vishnu) and Goddess Saraswati (the consort of Lord Brahma) had a tough argument on who is superior among them. They decided to make it clear by asking Lord Indira, the king of celestial deities. Lord Indira gave the judgment that Goddess Lakshmi is the superior Goddess.

Goddess Saraswati was not satisfied with the decision and asked Lord Brahma about this, and Lord Brahma too chose Goddess Lakshmi to be the Superior Goddess. Goddess Saraswati got disappointed and started avoiding Lord Brahma. During this crucial time, Lord Brahma did a severe penance towards Lord Vishnu and performed an Aswametha Yagna which is usually done long with His consort Goddess Saraswati. This bought the anger of Goddess Saraswati to the peak.

Goddess Saraswati decided to disturb the yagna of Lord Brahma and interrupted it in various ways but Lord Vishnu prevented it every time. And Goddess SaraSwati sent Raakshakas (demons) to disrupt the Yagna. Lord Vishnu appeared as a stream of light to overcome the darkness of that crucial situation and killed the Raakshakas. Hence Lord Vishnu appeared as a stream of light to kill the demons, Lord Vishnu was called as Deepa Prakasa Perumal.


The presiding deity of this Deepa Prakasa Perumal Temple is Lord Sri Deepa Prakasar also called as Lord Vilakkoli Perumal, in standing posture, facing towards the west. The other main deities of this temple are Goddess Maragathavalli, the consort of Lord Deepa Prakasar, Goddess Lakshmi Hayagriva, Goddess Andal, Lord Hayagreeva and Azhwars. Sri Deepa Prakasa Perumal Temple is glorified in Nalayira Divya Prabandham, the great canon, and the hymns were sung by the saints Azhwars.

Sri Deepa Prakasa Perumal Temple is built in a Dravidian style of architecture and has a three-tiered structured Rajagopuram (temple tower). This place is said to be the birth place of the great poet Vedanta Desika, and he has a separate shrine in this temple along with Lord Hayagreeva. The Pushkarani of Sri Deepa Prakasa Perumal Temple is called as Saraswathi Pushkarani. The Vimanam (the tower above the sanctum sanctorum) of Sri Deepa Prakasa Perumal Temple is called as Srikara Vimanam.

Pooja Timings

  • Ushathkalam Pooja – 7 a.m.
  • Kalasanthi Pooja – 8:00 a.m.
  • Uchikalam Pooja – 12:00 p.m.
  • Sayarakshai Pooja – 6:00 p.m.
  • Irandamkalam Pooja – 7:00 p.m.
  • Ardha Jamam Pooja – 10:00 p.m.


  • Brahmostavam festival – September or October
  • Garuda Sevai – May or June
By Road

The city of Kanchipuram is well connected with the other part of the states and it is few kms from the Quadrilateral National Highway. There are frequent bus services from Chennai and it takes 2- 3 hours to reach. The Chennai Metropolitan and the state express transport operate the services.

By Train

Kanchipuram is connected with the southern part of the rail network and few trains are running through Kanchipuram. Suburban trains are running between Kanchipuram and Chennai beach on specified intervals.

By Air

Chennai, the nearest international airport, is situated around 75 km away from Kanchipuram. Both public and private transport facilities are available at the airport.

  • Kanchi Kamakshi Devi Temple
  • Kailasanadhar Temple
  • Sri Simha Dhakshinamoorthi Vyagrapuriswarar Temple
  • Madambakkam Sri Lakshmi Narayana Perumal Temple