A view infront of the 'Sri Deiva Naayaka Perumal Temple'
A view infront of the 'Sri Deiva Naayaka Perumal Temple'

Sri Deiva Naayaka Perumal Temple, also named as ‘Thiru Devanaar Thogai’ is situated in Keezhachaalai village, Thirunangur, district of Nagapattinam, Tamilnadu. Sri Deiva Naayaka Perumal Temple is dedicated to Lord Vishnu and also one of the 108 Divya Desam Temples. The mythology says that Lord Shiva had a dance of destruction (Rudra Tandava) carrying half burnt body of goddess Sati after goddess Sati’s self-immolation. To stop the dance of destruction performed by Lord Shiva, Lord Vishnu threw His Chakra (Sudharshan Chakra) on Goddess Sati’s body which dismembered Her body into 52 parts.

And it is said that each time the hair of Lord Shiva touches the earth, there appeared eleven other forms of Lord Shiva. Lord Vishnu appeared in eleven forms as Lord Shiva did and solaced Lord Shiva saying that His dance of destruction may result in the destruction of entire creations on the world. The eleven forms of Lord Vishnu which appeared at Thirunangur is said to be where the eleven temples of Lord Vishnu are situated. Hence, the eleven temples at Thirunangur are very closely associated to each other in one way or the other.

And the another mythology says that this is the place where Lord Vishnu married Goddess Lakshmi, who appeared out of Thiruparkadal in the presence of group of Devas and hence this temple is also called as Thiru Devanaar Thogai.


The presiding deity of this Deiva Naayaka Perumal Temple is Lord Deivanayakan (Lord Vishnu), in standing posture facing towards the west direction. The other deities of this temple are Goddess Kadalmagal (Goddess Lakshmi), Lord Madhava Perumal, Goddess Madhava Nayaki etc. The Pushkarani (temple tank) of Sri Deiva Naayaka Perumal Temple is Shobana Pushkarani and the Vimanam (temple tower) is called Shobana Vimanam. The peculiarity of this temple is that the shadow of the Vimanam (temple tower) falls within the area of the Vimanam itself.

Sri Deiva Naayaka Perumal Temple is glorified in Nalayira Divya Prabandham, the great canon and the hymns were sung by Thirumangai Azhwar. The poetry or mantra which are dedicated to each of the eleven temples by the legends are chanted in the respective temples even today. During the Garudasevai festival which is celebrated on the month of January, the festival deities of all the eleven temples associated to Lord Vishnu at Thirunangur are brought on Garuda Vahanam (the vehicle of Lord Vishnu).

Pooja Timings

  • Ushathkalam Pooja – 8 a.m.
  • Kalasanthi Pooja – 10:00 a.m.
  • Sayarakshai Pooja – 5:00 p.m.
  • Ardha Jamam Pooja – 7:00 p.m.


  • Thirumangai Azhwar Mangalasasana Utsavam and Garudasevai – January or February
  • Vaikasi Brahmmotsavam – May or June
By Road

Extensive network of roads connect it to Chennai, Madurai, Tiruchirappalli, Pondicherry, Thanjavur and all other major cities. Nagapattinam is located at a distance of about 330kms from Chennai by Road.

By Train

Nagapattinam railway junction connects Thiruvarur in the west, Nagore in the north, Velankanni in the south and Karaikal in the east. There is a daily express train to Chennai via Mayiladuthurai and Ernakulam via Coimbatore and it connects all major cities.

By Air

The nearest Airport is Tiruchirapalli Airport, located 145 km (90 miles) away from the town.

  • Kayaroganeswarar Temple
  • Thanthondreeswarar Temple
  • Neelakandeswarar Temple
  • Pallavaneswarar Temple
  • Aranyeswarar Temple