The holy temple tank of Sri Devaraja Perumal Temple at Naimisharanya
The holy temple tank of Sri Devaraja Perumal Temple at Naimisharanya

Sri Devaraja Perumal Temple is located at Naimisharanya in the north Indian state of Uttar Pradesh and also revered as one of the 108 Divya Desam temples, dedicated to Lord Vishnu. Sri Devaraja Perumal temple is glorified in Nalayira Divya Prabandham, a Vaishnava canon, and mangalaasan (devotional songs) were sang by the twelve azhwar saints. Sri Devaraja Perumal temple is considered to be one of the eight Swayam Vyaktha kshetras (self-manifested shrines) of Lord Vishnu, where the presiding deity is said to be manifested on its own. The eight Swayambhu Kshetras of Lord Vishnu are:

  1. Srirangam Ranganathaswamy temple
  2. Srimushnam Bhu Varaha Swamy temple
  3. Saligrama
  4. Thotadri Vanamamalai Perumal Temple
  5. Tirumala Venkateswara Temple
  6. Naimisharanya Sri Devaraja Perumal Temple
  7. Pushkaram
  8. Badrinath Temple

The mythology was that when the sages were searching a place to perform penance towards Lord Vishnu, Brahma, the god of creation, bought a ring from the place darba grass. And He told the sages to perform penance in a place where the ring falls. The ring was believed to be fell at Naimisaranyam and the sages performed penance there. And Lord Vishnu is said to have appeared to the sages when they completed their penance and blessed them. It is believed that Lord Vishnu and the sages are present in the forest in the form of trees.


Sri Devaraja Perumal temple is considered as Tapovanam (forest of penance), because the presiding deity Lord Deva Raja (Lord Vishnu) is believed to be reside over the forest. The ritual to the presiding deity is believed to be done to the forest. And the goddess of the temple is Pundarikavalli Thayaar. There are nine Tapovanams, holy forests, are found. They are:

  1. Dandakaranyam
  2. Saindhavaranyam
  3. Jambhukaranyam
  4. Pushkararanyam
  5. Utpalaranyam
  6. Badrikaranyam
  7. Gurujangalaranyam
  8. Aruputharanyam
  9. Naimisaranayam

The legend says that Narada, a Vedic sage, was in search for the best Theertham (temple tank) in three worlds. And it is said that he went to Kailasa, the abode of Lord Shiva, then to Parkadal, the abode of Lord Vishnu and finally to the holy Naimisa forest. The deity is believed to have worshipped by all the celestial deities. The other important deities at Sri Devaraja Perumal temple are Lord Vinayaka, Lord Rama, Lakshmana, Sita, and Chakratazhwar. The holy Theertham (temple tank) of Sri Devaraja Perumal temple is called Chakra Theertham.

Pooja Timings

The temple remains open from morning 6.00 AM to 8.00 PM.


  • Navaratri – September/October
  • Rama Navami – April
  • Krishna Jayanthi – August/September
  • Poornima day
By Road

The National Highway No. 24 (Lucknow – Delhi) passes from the heart of Sitapur city. There are private and government buses ply to major cities.

By Train

The district is traversed by meter gauge railway from Lucknow to Bareilly and on broad gauge train network connecting Gorakhpur and Delhi via Gonda, Burhwal, bypassing Lucknow and Hardoi.

By Air

Chaudhary Charan Singh International Airport, Lucknow is the nearest airport.

  • Alopi Devi Mandir
  • Ghuisarnath Temple
  • Dashavatara Temple, Deogarh
  • Kamakshi Devi Temple, Pratapgarh
  • Someshwar Mahadev Temple
  • Krishna Mandir, Barohiya
  • Chauharjan Devi Temple