Sri Gnana Saraswathi Devi Temple at Basar
Sri Gnana Saraswathi Devi Temple at Basar

Sri Gnana Saraswathi Devi Temple is situated on the banks of river Godavari at Basar, a census town in Adilabad district, Telangana. The presiding deity of this temple is Goddess Saraswathi, the goddess of knowledge and learning. There is also an idol of Goddess Lakshmi, who is beside the deity of Goddess Saraswathi. Sri Gnana Saraswathi Devi Temple also has a separate shrine for Goddess Mahakali, which is located very near to the main temple. As the temple has the presence of Goddess Saraswathi, Goddess Lakshmi and Goddess Mahakali, the temple is called as Divine Trinity.

Sri Gnana Saraswathi Devi temple is considered to be one of the two very famous temples of Goddess Saraswathi in India. The other temple of Goddess Saraswathi is located at Jammu and Kashmir. It is said that a Karnataka king named Bijialudu, who ruled Nandagiri, a village in Telangana, constructed this temple. Children are brought to this temple to perform Akshara abyasam, a traditional religious ceremony in which the child is given the initiation of education before they start their formal school education.


The legend says that the Maharishi Vyas, the author of the Mahabharata and a central and revered figure in most Hindu traditions, along with his disciples and sage Vishvamitra, one of the most venerated sages of ancient times in India, decided to make their residence in a peaceful atmosphere after the Kurukshetra War, a mythological war described in the Indian Indian epic Mahabharata. In search of place he found the Dandaka forest, which lies between river Godavari and Narmada. Maharishi Vysa got delighted with the place and selected that place as their residence.  Maharishi Vysa spend all his time in prayers at that place and hence the place came to be called as ‘Vasara’ and was later changed to Basara.

Pooja Timings

  • Suprbatha Seva – 04.00 AM
  • Abhishekam – 04.30 to 05.30 AM
  • Alankarana, Harathi – 05.00 AM to 06.30 AM
  • Theeratha Prasada Vitharana – 06.30 AM to 07.30 AM
  • Sarvadarshanam, Aksharabhyasam, Kunkumarchana – 07.30 AM to 12.00 PM
  • Rudra Havanam – 12.00 PM to 12.15 PM
  • Maha Nivedhana, Harathi – 12.15 PM to 12.30 PM
  • Temple will be closed – 01.00 PM to 02.00 PM
  • Sarvadarshanam, Aksharabhyasam, Kunkumarchana – 02.00 PM to 07.00 PM
  • Pradoshakaala Pooja, Harathi – 07.00 PM to 08.00 PM
  • Sarvadarshanam – 08.00 PM to 08.30 PM
  • Harathi – 08.30 PM


  • Vyasa Pournami – June/July
  • Dasara Navarathrulu – September/October
  • Vasantha Panchami – January/February
  • Maha Shivarathri – February–March
By Road

This temple is located about 210 kilometers (via road) from the nearest City Hyderabad. APSRTC runs frequent buses from Hyderabad, Vijayawada, Nizamabad and Warangal

By Train

Nearest railway station to reach Gnana Saraswathi Devi Temple is Basar railway station

By Air

Nearest airport to reach Gnana Saraswathi Devi Temple is Hyderabad airport.

  • Mahankali Temple
  • Vyasa Mandir
  • Dathathreya Temple
  • Sita Ramachandra Swamy Temple
  • Vemulawada Temple
  • Ramappa Temple
  • Jainath Temple