A view infront of Sri Govardhana Nesa Perumal Temple (Shri Krishna Janma bhumi)
A view infront of Sri Govardhana Nesa Perumal Temple (Shri Krishna Janma bhumi)

Sri Govardhana Nesa Perumal Temple (Shri Krishna Janma bhumi) is situated in the holy city of Mathura in Uttar Pradesh. Sri Govardhana Nesa Perumal Temple is revered as one of the 108 Divya Desam temples, dedicated to Lord Vishnu and also named as ‘Thiru Vadamathura’. Mathura is believed to be the birth place of Lord Krishna, an incarnation of Lord Vishnu. This place is called as Krishna Janma bhumi, and considered as a sacred site. Sri Govardhana Nesa Perumal temple is located just beside the main Krishna Janma bhumi and it is also called as Kesava Deo Temple and Krishna Janmasthan.

The presiding deity of this Sri Govardhana Nesa Perumal Temple is Lord Govardhana Nesa Perumal (Lord Krishna), also called Lord Kesava Dev. The temple describes many constructions and destructions. It has been destroyed for four times and a new temple was built. It is believed that the original deity of this temple was installed by the grandson of Lord Krishna named Vajranabha. The temple was built for the second time around 400 AD by Chandragupta II, one of the most powerful emperors of the Gupta Empire in northern India. And the temple was destroyed in 1017 AD by Mahmud of Ghazni, was the most prominent ruler of the Ghaznavid Empire, North India.

The third temple was believed to build by Jajja in Vikrama Samvat 1207 (1150 AD) during the rule of Vijaypal Deva. The temple was built for the fourth time by Veer Singh Dev Bundela of Orchha and was said to be destructed by Aurangzeb in 1669. And during the British rule, Sri Govardhana Nesa Perumal Temple came under auction, and the king then Raja Patnimal of Banaras, purchased the temple, who wanted to build a temple. But because of the battle for ownership of land with Muslim community of Mathura, he could not able to erect a temple.

Finally it was ordered that the land belong to the current descendants of king of Benaras. Sri Govardhana Nesa Perumal Temple was finally constructed with more efforts by Jaidayal Dalmia of Dalmia Group. The construction of the temple was completed in the year 1965 at a cost of rupees 15 million. There is a small separate room built inside the temple complex which is structured like a prison, which was said that Lord Krishna was born inside a cell, when His mother Devaki was prisoned by His brother Kansa, as a divine voice predicted him that he would be killed by the eight son of Devaki.

Pooja Timings

The temple remains open in the morning from 7.00 AM to 12.00 noon and in the evening from 4.00 PM to 7.00 PM.


  • Krishna Janmashtami – August/September
  • Vasant Panchami – February
By Road

Mathura is well connected by road. NH 2 (Delhi-Howrah) Highway passes through the city and connects to National Highway 3 (to Mumbai), a part of which is known as Mathura Road. NH-11 (Agra to Bikaner). SH-33 (Bareilly to Mathura via Badaun, Ujhani, Kasganj, Soron, Sikandra Rao, and Hathras) NH-93 (Moradabad) are also prominent arterial highways.

By Train

The nearest railway station is Mathura junction. It is well to major cities such as New Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Bangalore, Hyderabad, Indore, Alwar, Jaipur, Bhopal, Gwalior, Jabalpur, Ujjain, Rewa, Lucknow, Kanpur, Varanasi etc.

By Air

Mathura has no airports. The nearest airports are Chaudhary Charan Singh International Airport in Lucknow and Lal Bahadur Shastri International Airport in Varanasi, providing international service. And domestic airports are located at Agra, Allahabad, Gorakhpur and Kanpur.

  • Shri Jagannath Temple Bhuteshwar Mathura
  • Prem Mandir, Vrindavan
  • Vrindavan Chandrodaya Mandir, Vrindavan
  • Birla Mandir
  • Iskcon Temple
  • Baldeo temple
  • Bhuteshwar temple