A closeup view of the Sri Koodal Azhagar Perumal Temple entrance tower
A closeup view of the Sri Koodal Azhagar Perumal Temple entrance tower

Sri Koodal Azhagar Perumal Temple, also known as ‘Koodal Alagar Temple’ is situated in the heart of the ancient Madurai City of Tamilnadu.  Sri Koodal Azhagar Perumal Temple is revered as one of the 108 Divya Desam temples, dedicated to Lord Vishnu. Sri Koodal Azhagar Perumal temple is glorified in Nalayira Divya Prabandham, a Vaishnava canon, and mangalaasanam (devotional songs) were sang by the 12 azhwar saints. This temple has a five tiered Rajagopuram (monumental tower) and two prakarams (precincts) and also built in a Dravidian style of architecture.

The legend says that 49 Tamil poets joined their hands to form an academy under the order of Pandya king to promote the growth of Tamil language. The academy which was formed by them stood as a center for the welfare of Tamil language for several centuries making numerous valuable works for the growth of Tamil. The academy stands as a monument for today. It is said that four buildings are joined together to form a fort to prevent the place from intense deluge. Even this was served as a reason for the name “koodal”, as four building joined to form a fort at this place.

The other mythology was that four clouds are sent by Lord Indra, the god of rain, because of the worship made by a Pandya king pleasing for rain. As a result the four clouds sent by Lord Indra joined at this place causing rain. Hence, the four clouds joined at this place, it is called as “Koodal”, where koodal means joining.


The presiding deity of this Sri Koodal Azhagar Perumal Temple is Lord Koodal Azhagar (Lord Vishnu), found in a sitting posture facing the east direction. The Goddess of Sri Koodal Azhagar Perumal temple is Maduravalli Thayaar, Who is found in a separate shrine. The other deities of the temple are Lord Lakshmi Narasimhar, Goddess Aandal, Lord Krishna, Lord Rama, and Acharyas. Sri Koodal Azhagar Perumal Temple has a separate sannidhi for Navagrahas, which could not be found in any other Vaishnava temples.

Sri Koodal Azhagar Perumal temples is a very ancient temple of Lord Vishnu which is very close to the Meenakshi Amman temple of Madurai. The Theerthams (temple tank) of Koodal Azhagar temple are Hema theertham, Chakkara Theertham, Kirutha Maala Nadhi theertham, and Vaigai Nadhi, theertham. And the Vimanam (tower above the sanctum sanctorum) of the temple is called Ashtanga vimanam.

Pooja Timings

  • Viswa Roopa Darshanam – 06.00 AM
  • Kaala santhi Pooja – 08.00 AM
  • Upasanthi Pooja – 10.00 AM
  • Uchikaala Pooja – 12.00 PM
  • Saayaratchai Pooja – 05.00 PM
  • Rathiri upasanthi Pooja – 07.00 PM
  • Arthajaama Pooja – 09.00 PM


  • Vaikasi Brahmotsavam – May/June
  • Maasi Theppotsavam – February/March
  • Panguni Uthram Thiru Kalyana Utsavam – March/April
  • Garuda Seva – June/July
  • Navarathri Festival – September/October
  • Kartikai Festival – November/December
By Road

The National Highways National Highway 7 (India) (old numbering), NH 45B, NH 208 and NH 49 pass through Madurai. Madurai has three major bus terminals, namely, Mattuthavani Bus Terminus and Arappalayam (for intercity buses), and Periyar Bus stand (for intra city buses) which connects almost all the major cities.

By Train

Madurai junction is the nearest railway station to reach the temple. There are direct trains from Madurai connecting important cities in India like Chennai, Mumbai, New Delhi, Bangalore, Jaipur, Hyderabad, Visakhapatnam, Trivandrum, and Coimbatore etc.

By Air

Madurai International Airport is the nearest airport to reach the temple. It is located at just 12 km from the city.

  • Azhagar Koil Temple (21Km from here)
  • Pazhamuthir Solai Temple (23Km from here)
  • Thirupparankundram (6Km from here)
  • Koodal Azhagar Temple (1Km from here)
  • Thiruvaathavoor Temple (18Km from here)
  • Thiruvedagam Temple (20Km from here)
  • Thirumohur Temple (12Km from here)
  • Maariamman Temple (2Km from here)