A distant view of Sri Maayapiran Perumal Temple (Thirupuliyoor Mahavishnu Temple)
A distant view of Sri Maayapiran Perumal Temple (Thirupuliyoor Mahavishnu Temple)

Sri Maayapiran Perumal Temple also called as ‘Thirupuliyoor Mahavishnu Temple’, situated in Puliyoor, Alappuzha District of Kerala and also revered as one of the 108 Divya Desam temples, dedicated to Lord Vishnu. Thirupuliyoor Mahavishnu Temple is mainly dedicated to Lord Krishna, an incarnation of Lord Vishnu and also glorified in Nalayira Divya Prabandham, a Vaishnava canon, and mangalaasan (devotional songs) were sang by the azhwar saints Nammazhwar and Tirumangai azhwar.

Thirupuliyoor Mahavishnu Temple is considered as one of the five ancient temples in Chengannur, Kerala and one of the temples which is connected with the legends of Mahabharata, one of the two major Sanskrit epics of ancient India. And these five temples are believed to be built by the Pancha Pandavas (five princes), the five acknowledged sons of Pandu, who ruled Hastinapura (a town and a nagar panchayat in Meerut district of Uttar Pradesh). The five temples built by the Pancha Pandavas are:

  1. Thrichittatt Maha Vishnu Temple by Yudishtira
  2. Thirupuliyoor Mahavishnu Temple by Bheema
  3. Aranmula Parthasarathy Temple by Arjuna
  4. Thiruvanvandoor Mahavishnu Temple by Nakula
  5. Thrikodithanam Mahavishnu Temple by Sahadeva


The legend says that the Pancha Pandavas after enthroning Parikshit, a Kuru king who reigned during the Middle Vedic period (12th or 11th century BCE), as a king of Hastinapura, the Pancha Pandavas started a pilgrimage. And on arriving on the banks of Pamba River, it is said that each of them installed an image of Lord Krishna. And it is believed that Thirupuliyoor Mahavishnu Temple is built by Bheema, the second of the Pancha Pandavas. Bheema is considered to be more powerful among the Pancha Pandavas.

The presiding deity of this Sri Maayapiran Perumal Temple is Lord Maayapiran (Lord Vishnu), in a standing posture facing towards the east direction and the Goddess of this temple is Goddess Porkodi Nachiyaar. One of the special feature of this temple is that this temple places the weapon called Gatha, which is used by Bheema.

Thirupuliyoor Mahavishnu Temple contains the deities of Sapta Rishis (saints) Atthri, Vasishtar, Kaasyapar, Gouthamar, Bharadwajar, Vishvamitra and Jamadagni, who were believed to perform Seva (selfless service) along with goddess Porkodi Nachiyaar to Lord Emperumaan (Lord Vishnu). And the Sapta Rishis are believed to have attained moksha (liberation) towards Lord Emperumaan (Lord Vishnu). The Theertham (temple tank) of this temple are Pragnya saras theertham and poonsunai theertham. The Vimanam (tower above the sanctum sanctorum) of the temple is called Purushothama Vimanam.

Pooja Timings

The temple remains open from morning 4.00 AM to 11.00 AM and in the evening from 5.00 PM to 8.00 PM.


  • Annual Festival – January/February
  • Chithirai Tiruvonam – April/May
  • Janmaashtami – September
  • Vaikunda Ekadasi – December/January
By Road

National Highway NH 47 passes through the city connecting the city to other major cities like Coimbatore, Ernakulam, Thrissur, Kollam, Trivandrum etc. The state run KSRTC buses connecting the city from all other major cities.

By Train

The nearest railway station to reach Sri Maayapiran Perumal temple is Chengannur railway station.

By Air

The nearest airport to reach Sri Maayapiran Perumal temple is Calicut International Airport.

  • Kalarcode Shri Mahadeva Temple
  • Sri Subramanya Swamy Temple
  • Valiya Kalavoor Temple
  • Cheriyakalavoor Ayyappa Swamy Temple
  • Preethikulangara Temple
  • Rektheswari Devi Temple
  • Puthukulangara Devi Temple
  • Sree Khanda Kharna Swamy Temple
  • Erattakulangara Sri Mahadeva Temple