A closeup view at Sri Moozhikkalathaan Perumal Temple (Thirumoozhikkulam Sri Lakshmana Perumal Temple)
A closeup view at Sri Moozhikkalathaan Perumal Temple (Thirumoozhikkulam Sri Lakshmana Perumal Temple)

Sri Moozhikkalathaan Perumal Temple is also called as Thirumoozhikkulam Sri Lakshmana Perumal Temple, which is located Thirumoozhikkulam, Ernakulam district of Kerala and also revered as one of the 108 Divya Desam Temple, dedicated to Lord Vishnu. Sri Lakshmana Perumal Temple has been praised by the hymns by many Vaishnava azhwars and very particularly by the Nammazhwar, one of the twelve azhwar saints of Tamil Nadu. Thirumoozhikkulam Sri Lakshmana Perumal Temple is located with a promising surrounding enclosed in a very large area.

The legend says that the sage named Hareetha Maharshi performed penance towards Lord Vishnu for many years on the banks of river Chalakudy (previously called as Poorna River). Pleased by the devotion of Hareetha Maharshi, Lord Vishnu appeared before him on the beginning of the Kali Yuga (one of the ages of life). There are four Yugas:

  1. Satya Yuga, a time of truth and righteousness (Golden Age)
  2. Treta Yuga (Silver Age)
  3. Dvapara Yuga (Bronze Age)
  4. Kali Yuga, a time of darkness and non-virtue (Iron Age)

And Lord Vishnu advised the sage Hareetha Maharshi to overcome the hurdles in Kali Yuga. As Lord Vishnu gave some advice to the sage, it is named as “Thirumozhi” (sacred words). And hence the place is called as Thirumozhikalam (Kalam refers to place). And late is came to be called by the people as Thirumoozhikkulam.


The presiding deity of Thirumoozhikkulam Sri Lakshmana Perumal Temple is Lord Lakshmana Swamy (Lord Vishnu). This temple is closely associated with Ramayana, one of the two great works of Indian literature. It was believed that the idols of Sreerama, Bharatha, Lakshmana and Shathrukhna were the solemn idols of Lord Krishna. At the end of the Dvapara Yuga, Dvaraka (one of the Sapta Puri, seven sacred cities of Hinduism), were descended into the sea. And it was said that the four idols were found near Thriprayar by some fishermen.

The idols were given to Vakkay Kaimal, landlord of that region. One night Vakkay Kaimal had a dream in which a person appeared before him and told that the four idols have been washed ashore and these idols should be installed in four different places. The places where the idols to be installed are also have mentioned to Vakkay Kaimal. The four idols were installed by Vakkay Kaimal in the directed places. The locations of the four idols are:

  1. Rama at Thriprayar
  2. Bharata at Irinjalakuda
  3. Lakshmana at Thirumoozhikkulam
  4. Sathrughna at Payammal

And it is believed that visiting the four temples on the same day is considered to be extremely worthy. During the festival conducted in the month of July – August, the pilgrims have a visit to all the four temples, which is called as “Nalambalam” (Four temples).

Pooja Timings

  • Nirmalya Darsanam, Abhishekam – 5.30 AM
  • Usha Pooja – 7.00 AM
  • Usha Sheeveli – 7.30 AM
  • Ucha Pooja – 10.30 AM
  • Ucha Sheeveli – 10.30 AM
  • Deeparadhana – 6.30 PM
  • Athazha Pooja – 7.30 PM
  • Athazha Sheeveli – 7.30 PM
  • Temple closes at 8.00 PM


  • Chithirai Tiruvonam – April/May
  • Karkkidakam (Ramayana month) Festival – July/August
  • Prathishta – Jaunuary
By Road

The temple is located about 40 km from Ernakulam town and 35 km from Kottayam town. There are numerous government and private buses available to all the major cities.

By Train

The nearest railway station is at Piravom Road on Kottayam to Ernakulam lane.

By Air

The nearest airport (60 km) is Cochin International Airport, at Nedumbassery near Kochi. The temple is located less than 20 km from Nedumbassery airport.

  • Valanjambalam Devi Temple
  • Ravipuram Srikrishna Swamy Temple
  • Pavakkulam Mahadeva Temple
  • Chittoor Sri Krishna Temple
  • Hanuman Temple
  • Murugan Temple