A view infront of the 'Sri Parimala Ranganathar Temple ' at Thiruindalur
A view infront of the 'Sri Parimala Ranganathar Temple ' at Thiruindalur

Sri Parimala Ranganathar Temple is situated on the banks of river Cauvery, Mayiladuthurai, Nagapatman district of Tamilnadu. Sri Parimala Ranganathar Temple is dedicated to Lord Vishnu and also one of the 108 Divya Desam Temples. The Rajagopuram of this temple has a five-tiered structure and the temple is covered with granite walls. Sri Parimala Ranganathar Temple is built in a Dravidian style and is said to be contributed by Cholas, Vijayanagar Empire and Madurai Nayakars. However, the temple is now maintained by Religious and Charitable Institutions Endowment Board of Government.

The mythology was that the curse of God Chandra (the moon god) got relieved visiting this temple and so it is said to be a special temple for the moon god. The main sanctum houses the idol of Lord Parimala Ranganatha Perumal at the height 12 feet. The sculptures of Lord Brahma, the god of creation, has been carved on the walls of this temple. The saint Thirumangai Azhwar is said to be visited this temple to get the blessings of Lord Parimala Ranganatha Perumal.


The presiding deity of this Parimala Ranganathar Temple is Lord Parimala Ranganatha Perumal in reclining posture made of green stone and is facing the east direction. The Goddess Parimala Ranganayaki, consort of Lord Parimala Ranganatha Perumal is found near the presiding deity. The Goddess is called by the names Goddess Chandrasaapa Vimochanavalli and Goddess Pudareekavalli. The Parimala Ranganathar Temple also locates the idols of river Cauvery and river Ganga, the river gods. The other deities found in this temple are Lord Yoga Narasimhar, Lord Rama, Lord Anjaneyar, Lord Santhanagopalakrishnan, Lord Surya and Lord Chandra.

The mandapams of the temple, Dwajasthamba Mandapam and Garuda Mandapam contains of the images of ten Avatars of Lord Vishnu. Parimala Ranganathar Temple is glorified in Nalayira Divya Prabandham, the Vaishnava canon. Sri Parimala Ranganathar Temple is one of the Pancharanga Kshetrams (five temples) situated on the banks of river Cauvery, dedicated to Lord Vishnu. The Pancharanga Kshetrams are:

  1. Sri Ranganatha Swamy Temple, Srirangam
  2. Sri Parimala Ranganatha Perumal Temple, Mayiladuthurai
  3. Sri Sarangapani Temple, Kumbakonam
  4. Sri Appakkudathan Temple, Trichy
  5. Sri Ranganatha Temple, Srirangapatna (Karnataka)

Pooja Timing

  • Tiruvanandal Pooja – 8:00 a.m.
  • Kala santhi Pooja – 9:00 a.m.
  • Uchikalam Pooja – 12:30 p.m.
  • Niyyanusandhanam Pooja – 6:00 p.m.
  • Irandamkalam Pooja – 7:30 p.m.
  • Ardha Jamam Pooja – 9:00 p.m.


  • Chitrai festival – April or May
  • Aaandal Aadi festival – July or August
  • Navaratri Utsavam – September or October
  • Aipasi Thula Mahostavam – October or November
  • Vaikunta Ekadasi – December or January
  • Makara Sankranthi – January
  • Panguni Brahmotsavam – March or April
By Road

There are regular bus services to important cities in Tamil Nadu. There are also regular services to other South Indian cities as Bangalore, Tirupathi and Thiruvananthapuram. Mayiladuthurai forms a part of the Division 1 of the Tamil Nadu State Transport Corporation which is headquartered at Kumbakonam.

By Train

Mayiladuthurai is connected by rail with most important towns and cities in South India. Mayiladuthurai Junction is located on the mainline connecting the state capital Chennai with Thanjavur. The Mysore- Mayiladuthurai Express connects Kumbakonam with Mysore and Bangalore. There are regular express trains that connect the city with major cities in the state like Chennai, Coimbatore, Madurai and Tiruchirapalli.

By Air

The nearest international airport is the Tiruchirapalli International Airport, located 130 km (81 mi) from Mayiladuthurai.

  • Mayooranathar Temple
  • Vallalar Temple
  • Ayyarapper Temple
  • Senthangudi Durga Temple
  • Tirupambupuram Temple
  • Thirumanancheri Temple
  • Punugiswarar Temple