A distant view of the Sri Srinivasa Perumal Temple, also known as 'Annan Perumal Temple'
A distant view of the Sri Srinivasa Perumal Temple, also known as 'Annan Perumal Temple'

Sri Srinivasa Perumal Temple is also called as ‘Annan Perumal Temple’, located at ‘Thiru Vellakulam’, Thirunangur, Nagapatnam district of Tamilnadu. Srinivasa Perumal Temple is dedicated to Lord Vishnu and also one of the 108 Divya Desam Temples. The mythology says that Lord Shiva had a dance of destruction (Rudra Tandava) carrying half burnt body of Goddess Sati after Goddess Sati’s self-immolation. To stop the dance of destruction performed by Lord Shiva, Lord Vishnu threw His Chakra (Sudharshan Chakra) on Goddess Sati’s body which dismembered Her body into 52 parts.

And it is said that each time the hair of Lord Shiva touches the earth, there appeared eleven other forms of Lord Shiva. Lord Vishnu appeared in eleven forms as Lord Shiva did and solaced Lord Shiva saying that His dance of destruction may result in the destruction of entire creations on the world. The eleven forms of Lord Vishnu which appeared at Thirunangur is said to be where the eleven temples of Lord Vishnu are situated. Hence, the eleven temples at Thirunangur are very closely associated to each other in one way or the other. And it is said that Eleven Rudras (deities) and the group of Rishis were worshipped Lord Vishnu and got blessings of Lord Vishnu at Thirunangur.


The presiding deity of this Srinivasa Perumal Temple is Lord Srinivasan (Lord Vishnu) also known as Lord Annan Perumal, in a standing posture facing towards the east direction. The other main deities of this temple are Goddess Alarmel Mangai, Goddess Padmavathi, etc. Sri Srinivasa Perumal Temple is glorified in Nalayira Divya Prabandham, the great canon and the hymns were sung by Thirumangai Azhwar. The saint Thirumangai Azhwar has a separate shrine in this temple.

The poetry or mantra which are dedicated to each of the eleven temples by the legends are chanted in the respective temples even today. During the Garudasevai Festival which is celebrated on the month of January, the festival deities of all the eleven temples associated to Lord Vishnu at Thirunangur are brought on ‘Garuda Vahanam’ (the vehicle of Lord Vishnu). The Puskarani (temple tank) of Sri Srinivasa Perumal Temple is called as Thiruvellakkulam Pushkarani. The Vimanam (roof above sanctum sanctorum) of Sri Srinivasa Perumal Temple is called as Swetha Vimanam.

Pooja Timings

  • Ushathkalam Pooja – 8 a.m.
  • Kalasanthi Pooja – 10:00 a.m.
  • Sayarakshai Pooja – 5:00 p.m.
  • Ardha Jamam Pooja – 7:00 p.m.


  • Thirumangai Azhwar Mangalasasana Utsavam and Garudasevai – January or February
  • Vaikasi Brahmmotsavam – May or June
By Road

Extensive network of roads connect it to Chennai, Madurai, Tiruchirappalli, Pondicherry, Thanjavur and all other major cities. Nagapattinam is located at a distance of about 330kms from Chennai by Road.

By Train

Nagapattinam railway junction connects Thiruvarur in the west, Nagore in the north, Velankanni in the south and Karaikal in the east. There is a daily express train to Chennai via Mayiladuthurai and Ernakulam via Coimbatore and it connects all major cities.

By Air

The nearest Airport is Tiruchirapalli Airport, located 145 km (90 miles) away from the town.

  • Kayaroganeswarar Temple
  • Thanthondreeswarar Temple
  • Neelakandeswarar Temple
  • Pallavaneswarar Temple
  • Aranyeswarar Temple
  • Naganathar Temple