A closeup view of the Ulagalantha Perumal Temple tower at Thiruooragam
A closeup view of the Ulagalantha Perumal Temple tower at Thiruooragam

Sri Ulagalantha Perumal Temple is situated in ‘Thiruooragam’ of Kanchipuram district in Tamilnadu, dedicated to Lord Vishnu and also one of the 108 Divya Desam Temples. This temple is said to be built by the Pallavas and was later contributed mostly by the Chola dynasties, Vijayanagar Kings and Madurai Nayakars. Ulagalantha Perumal Temple is built in a Dravidian style of structure and has a three-tiered Rajagopuram (temple tower) with seven Kalasams (a pot like structure), one of the prominent symbol of Hindu temples.

The legend says that the authority of Lord Indra, the lord of heaven was taken by the demon King Mahabali. The demon king Mahabali with his severe penance won the praise of the world and he considered himself as the all-powerful in the whole world and heaven. And it is said that Lord Vishnu took Vamana Avatar (the fifth incarnation of Lord Vishnu), to restore the authority of Lord Indra. In Vamana avatar, Lord Vishnu is called as ‘Thrivikraman’.


The presiding deity of this Ulagalantha Perumal Temple is Lord Ulagalantha Perumal also called as Thrivikraman stands at a height of 35 feet with his right leg at a right angle to the body and parallel to the ground, placed on the head of the demon King Mahabali. The two left hand fingers of Lord is seen stretched out, which indicates that he took two steps to measure the world. And one finger of His right hand refers to the question that Lord posted to the demon king, where he could place His third step.

The Goddess of this Ulagalantha Perumal Temple is ‘Amudhavalli Thayaar’ (Goddess Lakshmi) and the festival deity of this temple is Lord Loganathan. The four Divya Desam Temples are located within this same shrine. They are:

  1. Thirukkarvaanam
  2. Thirukaaragam
  3. Thiruooragam
  4. Thiruneeragam

Ulagalantha Perumal Temple is glorified in Nalayira Divya Prabandham, the Vaishnava canon, with hymns sung by the saint Thirumazhisai Azhwar. The Vimanam (tower above the sanctum sanctorum) of Ulagalantha Perumal Temple is called Saara SriKara Vimanam, which accommodates the huge idol of Lord Ulagalantha Perumal. The Pushkarani (temple tank) of Ulagalantha Perumal Temple is called Naga Pushkarani and Sesha Pushkarani.

Pooja Timings

  • Ushathkalam Pooja – 7 a.m.
  • Kalasanthi Pooja – 8:00 a.m.
  • Uchikalam Pooja – 12:00 p.m.
  • Sayarakshai Pooja – 6:00 p.m.
  • Irandamkalam Pooja -7:00 p.m.
  • Ardha Jamam Pooja – 10:00 p.m.


  • Brahmotsavam Festival – January or February
  • Vamana Jayanthi Festival – August or September
  • Navaratri Festival – October
By Road

The city of Kanchipuram is well connected with the other part of the states and it is few kms from the Quadrilateral National Highway. There are frequent bus services from Chennai and it takes 2- 3 hours to reach. The Chennai Metropolitan and the state express transport operate the services.

By Train

Kanchipuram is connected with the southern part of the rail network and few trains are running through Kanchipuram. Suburban trains are running between Kanchipuram and Chennai beach on specified intervals.

By Air

Chennai, the nearest international airport, is situated around 75 km away from Kanchipuram. Both public and private transport facilities are available at the airport.

  • Kanchi Kamakshi Devi Temple
  • Kailasanadhar Temple
  • Sri Simha Dhakshinamoorthi Vyagrapuriswarar Temple
  • Madambakkam Sri Lakshmi Narayana Perumal Temple
  • Vaikunda Perumal Temple
  • Kachabeshwarar Temple
  • Kanchi Varadaraja Swami Temple