Main entrance tower of Yadagirigutta Temple, Sree Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy Vari Devastanam
Main entrance tower of Yadagirigutta Temple, Sree Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy Vari Devastanam

Yadagirigutta Temple (or) Sree Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy Vari Devastanam is located on a hillock at Bhongir, Nalgonda district of Telangana State and also dedicated to Lord Narasimha (One of the incarnations of Lord vishnu). Yadagirigutta Temple is related to Treta Yugam, the second ages of mankind among the four ages. The four Yugas or the four ages of mankind are:

  1. Satya Yuga, where Human lifespan was 100,000 years.
  2. Treta Yuga, where Human lifespan was 10,000 years.
  3. Dvapara Yuga, where Human lifespan was 1,000 years
  4. Kali Yuga, the present Yuga, Human lifespan is 100 years.

The legend says that in Treta Yugam, a sage named Yadarishi, who was the son of the great sage Rishyasrungaa, was said to have performed penance inside a cave with the blessings of Lord Hnauman on Yadagiri hill which is between Bhongir (Bhuvanagiri) and Raigiri (in Nalgonda district). Skanda Purana, one of the famous ancient Hindu texts, describes about the origin of Yadagirigutta temple. Pleased with the hearty devotion of the sage Yadarishi, Lord Narasimha appeared before the sage in five different forms. These five forms of Lord Narasimha is believed to have later worshiped as Pancha Narasimha Kshetras. The five forms of Narasimha are:

  1. Sri Jwala Narsimha
  2. Sri Yogananda Narsimha
  3. Sri Gandabherunda Narsimha
  4. Sri Ugra Narsimha
  5. Sri Lakshminarasimha


The presiding deity of the temple is Lord Narasimha (half man and half lion), one of the incarnation of Lord Vishnu. The garbhagriha, sanctum sanctorum of the temple is found in a cave, which is under a big slating rock. Lord Narasimha is also called by the name Yadagiri, and hence the temple is called as Yadagirigutta temple. The top of the temple tower of the sanctum sanctorum glows with the golden Sudarshana Chakra, the powerful weapon of Lord Vishnu.

And it is said that in the ancient times, the Sudarshana chakra moved according to the direction from where the devotees come and worship at the temple. It has been guiding the devotees to the temple. Yadagirigutta Temple is mostly worshiped by the great sages and hence it has the name Rishi Aradhana Kshetram (the place of worship for sages). Lord Narasimha is also called as Vaidya Narasimha, who save the devotees from the influence of planets and He is also said to cure mental and emotional problems of His devotees.

Pooja Timings

  • Suprabhata Seva – 04.00 AM to 04.30 AM
  • Nijabishekam – 05.30 AM to 06.30 AM
  • Nijabishekam (Couple) – 05.30 AM to 06.30 AM
  • Sahasra Namarchana – 06.30 AM to 07.15 AM
  • Kunkumarchana (friday) – 08.30 AM to 09.00 AM
  • Sri Sudershana Homam – 8.00 AM to 10.00 AM
  • Kalyanothsavam – 09.00 AM to 11.30 AM
  • Jodu Seva – 05.00 PM to 06.45 PM
  • Pavalimpu Seva – 09.00 PM to 09.30 PM


  • Annual Brahmotsavam – February/March
  • Pavithrostavam – July/August
  • Adhyanotsavam – December/January
  • Dhanurmasam – December/January
  • Annakutothsavam – October/November
By Road

There are number of buses from Hyderabad, Secunderabad and other parts of the state to reach Yadagirigutta.

By Train

The nearest railway station to reach Yadagirigutta Temple is Raigiri railway station, which is about 3 km.

By Air

The nearest airport to reach Yadagirigutta Temple is Hyderabad airport.

  • Chaya Someswara Swamy temple
  • Maruthi Mandir
  • Pachala Someswara temple
  • Sunkishala Temple
  • Sri Meenakshi Agastheswarw Swamy Temple
  • Sri Laxmi Narsimha Swamy Temple
  • Sri Venkateswara Swamy Temple